Village Portal Indexing
Sports & Leisure Parks
Health Care & Welfare
Schools & Nurseries
Convenience Stores
Speciality Shop Fronts
Hair & Beauty Salons
Pet and Animal Care
Takeaway Fast Food
Family Cafe & Diners
Licensed Pubs & Clubs
Community Groups
Councillors and MPs
Church & Christianity
Motor Garage Shops
Trade Suppliers
Financial Services
Factory Manufacturing
Edwardian Confectionery

Huthwaite Portal

Councillor Representatives

A Huthwaite electoral area is one division of Sutton town in the Ashfield District under Nottinghamshire County Councils. This Sutton West Ward was redefined prior 2015 elections, and councillors since represent a renamed Huthwaite and Brierley Ward.

Brierley Origins

  Brierley is an address formally introduced to this locality after firstly choosing title for a designated Brierley Forest Park area.   That large country parkland opened 1999 with pathways stretching eastward from northern Huthwaite connecting similar historic neighbouring mining areas of Teveral, Skegby and Stanton Hill, all tied within town boundaries of Sutton.   Much of the land reclaimed site of the old coal pit around which Stanton Hill was built. Although officially titled Sutton Colliery, it remained commonly referred to as Brierley pit because so many South Yorkshire coal miners relocated from that Barnsley area.   Brierley was therefore an apt choice to reflect a wider shared past industrial heritage. Next saw renaming of the adjoining Huthwaite Golf Course. But the opening of a newly built 2013 Huthwaite Medical Centre overlooking a maturing influential forest has truly asserted addressing.

Covering the Huthwaite & Brierley Ward
Ashfield District Councillors - 3rd May 2019
C Cllr Tom Hollis07854 720602Ash Ind
Cllr Andrew HardingAsh Ind

Nottinghamshire County Council
former Lib Dem re-elected 9th June 2017
County Cllr Tom Hollis07854 720602Ash Ind

Ashfield Member of Parliament
Re-elected 9th June 2017
Gloria De Piero MP01623 720399Labour

Logo May 2019 votes in a landslide victory for the Ashfield Indedependants, handing Cllr Jason Zadrozny a vast majority as leader of Ashfield District Council.


07 May 15     by Gary Elliott       Updated 03 May 19