New Hucknall Colliery was renown for initially employing three pit shafts, although its two towering chimney stacks are the prominent feature sighting this Huthwaite pit yard throughout earlier years of steam power.
Two scenes dated prior 1910 overlook the valley site from opposing directions. Above sights Fulwood to the South East. That gives vantage point for the following up to year 1967. A well trodden path once bridged the rear railway side cuttings, walked daily by miners from beyond the older Mapplewells pub off Alfreton Road.
The pit yard swelled in size accommodating an array of workshops to support mechanisation both above and below ground under National Coal Board management. Eventually adding luxury of pit head baths, a canteen and medical centre dates from April 1954, while production is proven by a mountainous slag heap.
Diesel locomotives replaced steam trains for hauling coals out westward on tracks across Common Road.
An unsightly peaked waste tip was eventually levelled off and grassed over before 1980 photo proves it had successfully pastured grazing cattle. These overlooking northerly views from off it present a rather charming scene, also of residential expansion beneath village heights, which was all largely due this modern colliery.
Comparing northwest view in final 1982 colour more truthfully exposes a heavy industrial site. Year marks this collieries closure, and its only the pit tip which survived site clearance beneath in order to extend life of a Sutton landfill. That operation presented an even worse scar viewed from Huthwaite, until lastly sculptured and replanted to present 2006 grounds on which to creatively invite a Rookery Park.
Written 23 Aug 14 Revised 24 Aug 14 © by Gary Elliott